Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here I am finally, ready to party and mingle with everyone at Fiesta Friday! I’ve emerged from my kitchen and as promised, I’m bringing patriotic food to share. Look everyone, I made you a red, white, and blue pizza! Am I a good blogger now?

us flag pizza

4th of july pizza

To tell you the truth, setting out to do patriotic food, naturally, without any food coloring or dye, takes a bit longer than expected. The biggest obstacle is finding a natural blue ingredient. Blueberries, of course, are the first that come to mind. And I will probably make something with blueberries in the days to come. Since I bought like a gallon of them. Uh-huh!

But I wanted to do something else, something less predictable, something savory. I could only think of a few ingredients that I could use. Blue cheese, blue corn chips, red/purple cabbage, and purple/blue potatoes. Guess what? I bought all of them. I hope I won’t be turning blue by the end of the week. But “when I’m feeling blue all I need to do is take a look at you. Then I’m not so blue.”

Okay, that probably reveals how old I am. Anybody remember Phil Collins? What happened to him? And to think my sister and BIL were so excited to be able to meet him backstage once. Uh-huh!

Anyway, blue ingredients. I decided to start with the blue potatoes. Only ‘coz I LOVE potatoes!! Okay, didn’t mean to yell at you, just super excited!! Oops, there I go, yelling again.

purple potatoes

Blue potatoes aren’t really blue, until you cook and peel them. They’re of course purple when fresh. But then they take on this grayish purplish hue when cooked, and for a moment you start thinking “Uh-oh, what happened here?” But then you peel them, and they reveal a most stunning blue you’ve ever seen. Uh-huh!

mashed blue potato

I can’t get enough of these potatoes. The color is just so stunning. Good thing I planted them in my garden. Wait, correction, I didn’t plant them this year. Which proves what a lousy potato digger I am, in addition to being a lousy blogger. These plants must have sprouted from tubers that I missed harvesting last year. No complaint, I get free potato plants. Plus, look at the pretty flowers. Who says vegetables can’t be beautiful?

purple potato plants

potato flowers

So, here’s my 4th of July pizza. You can make it a simple round pizza, scattering the toppings on top pell-mell, helter-skelter, in reckless abandon. Or you can spend a little more time making it to look like a flying flag, just to get the kiddos excited. It’s up to you.

patriotic pizza

4th of july pizza

Patriotic Pizza


Amount of toppings is dependent on the size of pizza. Add as much or as little as you like.

Pizza dough
Pizza/tomato sauce
For the red: Red cherry tomatoes, cut into thin slices or pepperoni slices
For the white: Fresh mozzarella balls, cut into slices or any white cheese
For the blue: Blue/Purple potatoes, boiled & peeled, cut into thin coins or shredded red cabbage
Oregano or basil, torn (optional)
Salt & pepper
Garlic powder or minced fresh garlic

1. Pre-heat oven to 400°F.
2. Heat a pizza stone or an upturned cookie sheet in the oven for at least 10 minutes.
3. On a lightly floured surface, roll out pizza dough into rounds or rectangle (for flag-shapes pizza). Transfer to a pizza peel.
4. Spread pizza/tomato sauce. Sprinkle oregano or basil, if using, garlic, and salt & pepper
5. Layer all topping ingredients or arrange colors to resemble the US flag.
6. Add salt, pepper, and garlic powder as needed.
8. Slide pizzas onto the heated stone or cookie sheet and bake until crust is brown, about 10 minutes for 6-in rounds.

Oh, and that bowl of mashed potatoes I was showing up there? It was for blue potato gnocchi. I’m too tired now to talk about gnocchi. The sluggish sloth returns. Another time, okay?

blue potato gnocchi

Linking this to 4th of July Fun.

