Tags

, , ,


Remember the mouse-ear chickweed that I tried and liked? This is what I did with it:

100_1215

I added it to Bibimbab. It’s a Korean dish consisting of various vegetables and beef, served on warm rice, topped with a sunny side up. Usually it has spinach in it. But in my case, I added the chickweed. On the platter below, it’s the green leafy vegetables between the mushroom and the zucchini.

100_1207

It’s an easy dish to put together, so I’m not sure a recipe is needed. I’ll just describe what I did.

The rice
You can use any kind of rice, white or brown, long grain or short grain. In fact you can even substitute it with wheat berries or quinoa. But if you’re aiming for authenticity, then go for the Korean or Japanese rice. They are the short grain, sticky kind of rice. The easy way to cook rice is in a rice cooker. That’s what I did.

The vegetables
You can use any. In Korean restaurants Bibimbab is usually served with bean sprouts, carrots, spinach, shiitake mushroom, and fern brakes. But I feel that any vegetable can be used and still give the dish an excellent result. For my Bibimbap I used carrot, zucchini, button mushroom, broccoli, onion, and of course the mouse-ear chickweed. All of them were sautéed in olive oil with minced garlic, splashed with a little water along the way, then finished with a dash of soy sauce. The chickweed also received a blanching treatment for 2 minutes prior to sautéing.

The beef
Any cut of beef will do, although the leaner the cut the tougher the meat usually is. So if you want tender beef, look for a marbled piece. I used the thinly sliced Angus round normally used for steak sandwiches. Marinade the beef in Korean barbecue sauce (Bulgogi sauce) for 30 minutes. My sauce was store-bought, but if you feel adventurous, you can make your own marinade:

2 tbsp minced garlic
3 tbsp onion puree
3 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
3 tbsp crushed Asian pear
2 chopped green onion
1 tbsp mirin (Japanese rice wine) or any dry white wine
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp pepper

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and stir until sugar is dissolved. This is enough marinade for 1 lb of beef.

Sauté marinated beef with olive oil on high heat for just a few minutes until just cooked. Or for the best flavor, grill on charcoal. I sautéed mine this time.

To serve the Bibimbap, spoon warm rice into a bowl, arrange beef and vegetables attractively on the rice, then top the whole thing with an egg cooked sunny side up. Enjoy!

Note:
Bibimbap is usually served with Korean chili paste called Gojujang. I think that’s what gives the dish its uniquely delicious taste, but the rest of the family members dislike anything spicy, so I didn’t serve it with our Bibimbap. It was still very good!

