Tags

, , , , ,

dandelion fritters

dandelion fritters

This one is for keeps! How could have I not known how good dandelions taste. Well, at least the flowers are. I’ve had dandelion greens before. A produce store in town sells them occasionally. They taste very bitter. Not a favorite in our house, even though they are highly nutritious.

Dandelion flowers are easy to recognize. There are no poisonous look-alikes. So they should be perfect for newbie foragers to find. However, please make sure that you pick dandelions from fields that have not been sprayed by chemicals or visited by animals leaving their wastes there. In other words, make sure that your dandelions are safe and clean to eat.

I made two batches of dandelion fritters. For the first batch, I rinsed and dried the flowers face down on paper towels. The second batch didn’t receive any rinsing, just a quick blow of air from the mouth to make sure there were no insects hiding in them. I think not rinsing them produce crunchier fritters.

dandelion fritters
Don’t you think this is an appropriate post for Earth Day? I’m utilizing weeds that most people usually chuck out. And I’m also linking this to Daphne’s Dandelions. Again, appropriate, don’t you think?

Dandelion Fritters

30 dandelion flowers (Try to remove the green sepals as much as you can. The bitterness comes from them.)
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup all-purpose flour or cornmeal for dredging (I prefer flour.)
Canola oil for frying.

1. Dip flowers in the egg.
2. Dredge them in flour.
3. Fry in oil on medium high heat, face down, for 45 seconds, then flip over. Fry for another 45 seconds. Drain on paper towels.

100_1269

I served these in two ways. Sprinkled with salt and drizzled with maple syrup. The salt wins. My baby girl asked for a second helping, by the way. She knows good eats!

***

100_1340

Besides dandelions, I also harvested some cilantro this week. Cilantro is an acquired taste. I didn’t like it when I was young. Hubby used to say it tasted like soap. More recently, he said that stink bugs don’t really smell that stinky, they smell more like cilantro. Poor cilantro!

But now I love it! I love it so much I try growing it year round. I find them to be cold hardy in my garden. When planted in Fall, it often is one of the first herbs to give me a harvest in early Spring. It bolts as soon as the heat arrives, but never mind, the flowers attract beneficial wasps and the seeds give us the coriander.

I harvested my cilantro along with a tiny bit of mint this week, to serve in Vietnamese pho noodle soup. Nobody mentioned soap!

100_1368

100_1375

