Tags

, , , , , ,

They were sitting by the cash register. Just a couple of pints. As if being watched and guarded, almost like they weren’t up for sale. Of course I snatched them up. I didn’t even ask how much they cost. Are you kidding me, they’re green figs! Petite, cute, pear-shaped things with tiny handles of stems.

After gorging on the first pint, I generously shared the other with la familia. In the form of individual tarts. This is a highly recommended recipe. Recommended by me, that is.

Fig & Caramelized Onion Tarts (adapted from this recipe, from The New York Times)

1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
5 slices of bacon
2 medium onions, sliced thinly
1 tsp garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
1 egg
Salt & pepper
Fresh figs, cut into halves or quarters, depending on the size of the fruits
2/3 cup crumbled goat cheese
2 tbsp pine nuts

(Makes 4 individual tarts)
1. Preheat oven to 375° F.
2. Roll out puff pastry, on a lightly floured surface. Mine was store-bought, measuring 9×9 in. I rolled it into 10×10 in, maybe slightly bigger.
3. Cut circles out of the puff pastry to fit into your tart molds. Prick the pastry several times with a fork (This is important, so pastry doesn’t puff up too much.)
4. Bake the pastry for about 10 minutes until puffed and golden. Remove from oven.
5. Cut up bacon into small pieces and fry until crisp. Remove and set aside.
6. You can use the grease left from frying the bacon to sauté your onions, or use olive oil and butter.
7. Sauté onions over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until onions become soft and caramelized, about 25-30 minutes. If onions become dry, you can add more oil/butter or water. Add garlic, salt & pepper, and balsamic vinegar. Sauté for a couple more minutes. Remove from heat and add thyme.
8. In a small bowl, beat egg. Stir in the onions and bacon pieces.
9. Divide onion mixture evenly into 4 portions and spread evenly over pastry. Arrange figs, cut-side up, on onion mixture. Scatter cheese and pine nuts over figs.
10. Bake for 10 more minutes.

***

So, the tarts were made last night, and I was planning to publish the post after I came home from work. Would you know it, this morning I received a wonderful surprise, from my good friend Angie B. We work in the same building but don’t always see each other. I bumped into her this morning as I came in, and what a serendipitous bump it was because she presented me with this, fresh figs from her tree! Wrapped and bowed. Isn’t she sweet?

gift from a friend

I cup up some and let my daughter have at it, for an after-school snack.

fresh figs

The beautiful bowl of figs also came with a recipe.

Fig Pancetta Arugula Salad Recipe

Hello, no brainer, fig salad is on the menu tonight. And I get to share another fig recipe with you, a good one. I added toasted pine nuts and a little drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette prior to serving.

Fig Pancetta Arugula Salad

Thanks, Angie! You’re a sweet, sweet friend!

