Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

roasted purple fingerling potatoes
Can’t get enough of this

That was the result of more scrounging around in the garden, which turned up these tubers

purple fingerling potatoes
Purple Fingerling Potatoes

and these turnips.

fall turnips
Fall Turnips

The last time I found turnips in the garden, I paired them with taters and came away with an award-winning recipe. Well, that was an exaggeration, but what I got was an excellent meal. Why deviate from a proven formula? So, once again, I give you taters ‘n’ turnips, this time roasted.

roasted purple potatoes and turnips
Roasted taters ‘n’ turnips served with grilled fish

Can you say yumm ….? Unless you don’t like fish, which is something I’m still learning to enjoy. But, at least the taters should get you going. They’re absolutely addicting, in a good way, in the not-fried way. French fries are my #1 vice. I’m completely addicted to them, so it’s good that I find a healthy substitute.

Roasted Taters ‘n’ Turnips
2 lbs potatoes, scrubbed and sliced into 1/4 inch slices
1 lb turnips, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch slices
4 tbs melted butter or olive oil
Salt & pepper
Fresh herbs (I used chives & parsley)

1. Preheat oven to 400° F.
2. In a bowl, toss potato and turnip slices with butter or olive oil, herbs, salt & pepper.
3. Spray your baking pan with non-stick cooking spray, and spread potato & turnip slices in it.
4. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until lightly browned and tender.

***

Speaking of addiction, I’ve been to pinterest day and night recently, spending way too much time on the computer looking at food pictures and wishing for them, instead of making the food. And I want to pin everything and anything, until pinterest stops me. Apparently, you can only pin a few photos in a day? Huh, don’t really see the point. Care to enlighten me?

I’m late in the game, I know, with this pinterest thing. But as they say, better late than never. Next up, facebook, for which I’m also late in the game for. Ay ay ay, so many things to learn, so little time. Oh, by the way, if you click on that green pinterest, it’ll bring you to my boards. And if you’re there, you might as well follow me, since currently I have zero follower. I’ll think of a giveaway for my very first follower, how ’bout that? I’ll make it worth your while

