Tags

, , , , , , , ,

All right, I’m getting better at this! At not feeling guilty about succeeding in the art of deception. The deception part itself, I’ve already mastered a long time ago, starting with my blog name. If you’ve been following me on my Zero to Hero journey, you’d know what I mean. Today’s assignment, by the way, is to add widgets to your blog. I added a new one, my avatar/Gravatar, whatever it’s called. Right there on the side bar ——> I have since removed the gravatar, since it looked too cluttered.

Unless, of course, you’re on your mobile device, in which case, it’ll appear down below. Can someone show me how to make an arrow pointing down?

Back to deception. I found out it’s easy to get away with it when it comes to my family. Either I’m really good at it or they’re too gullible. Just as gullible as I was when I brought them and a few friends and relatives to the Melting Pot, a fondue restaurant, to celebrate my daughter’s birthday. A dozen people, half of them children, and the bill came up to half a grand. Each of us only had a few bites, and we had to cook the food ourselves! Oh, that Melting Pot! It sure knows how to deceive people!

And I learned from it. I was too lazy to cook dinner, so I devised a clever event to get my family to cook themselves. And they fell for it. In fact, they were excited! See what I mean about deception and gullibility? And instead of feeling guilty, I didn’t. Wow, continue on this path, and I’m destined to turn into this:

cartoon eve and snake

Our fondue night, yesterday, also known around here as Fiesta Friday.

cheese fondue

cheese fondue bread

chocolate fondue

chocolate fondue marshmallow

When my kids were younger, I started calling our Friday dinners “Fiesta Friday” as a way to celebrate thank-God-it’s-Friday days, and somehow just by attributing the name, I got them excited. An ordinary dinner was transformed into a special event. Mostly, I served finger food that they could nibble on while watching TV or a movie. They were free to move about with their plates. My deceiving ways had started even way back then. Why stop now?

Cheese Fondue

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

5 cups shredded cheese (traditionally Gruyère or Emmentaler, or a mix of both. You can buy a pre-packaged “fondue mix” if you prefer. Or experiment and use other kinds of cheese. It’s your fondue!)
2 tsp cornstarch
1 clove garlic, cut in half
1 1/2 dry white wine (Even though most of the alcohol will have evaporated in the cooking process, children may not enjoy the flavor left by the wine. You can substitute with water + 2 tbsp of lemon juice for the wine.)

1. Toss cheese and cornstarch together. Set aside.
2. Rub bottom and sides of fondue pot with garlic. Remove and discard garlic. Set aside fondue pot.
3. Heat wine in a sauce pan, over medium heat, until bubbles start to form.
4. Stir in cheese, a cup at a time, and continue stirring until cheese is melted and smooth and comes to a gentle bubble.
5. Transfer melted cheese into a fondue pot, keeping it hot with the fondue burner or a candle.

Traditionally, only bread cubes are dipped, but hey, it’s my fondue. I dip whatever I like. You should, too!

