Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ever noticed how some people are more interesting than others? Their mannerism, way of speaking, and even looks, set them apart. Let me give you an example. Gabriel Byrne and Pierce Brosnan. Both actors, both Irish, both dark and handsome. Yet one is definitely more interesting. Byrne. Right? C’mon, he has the reputation of being the “brooding” kind! That makes him interesting.

More so than Brosnan. And this coming from a gal who had a crush on Remington Steele, too. Of course, Byrne is not as interesting as either Sean Connery or Colin Ferrell, both also dark and handsome Irish (See Update) actors. But it wouldn’t be fair to compare him to them. One is a legend, the other much too hip and young to warrant a fair comparison.

More examples:
Jennifer Aniston vs. Angelina Jolie. Jolie.
Roger Federer vs. Raphael Nadal. Nadal. (Still watching the Australian Open.)
Paula Deen vs. Ina Garten. Deen. (Excepting her use of a certain word that caused her demise, and rightly so.)
Oprah Winfrey vs Gayle King. Winfrey.

Okay, the last one is unfair. I’m pretty sure Gayle King is plenty interesting. We just haven’t been exposed to her as much. Besides, is there any woman who can be more interesting than Oprah Winfrey? Maybe Malala Yousafzai, and she is even just a kid.

The point I’m trying to make is that some people just have what it takes while others don’t. To be interesting. I want to be like them.

Not so much in the real world as in the blogosphere. I’m not saying the blogosphere can’t be real, but that’s another debate for another day. Anyway, that’s the kind of reputation I want to have. I want people to say,”Now that’s an interesting blog,” about my blog.

That’s why I’m making this Scandalous Sandwich. All of a sudden, things have just gotten more interesting around here. Who wouldn’t be interested in a Scandalous Sandwich? Scandalous Sandwich is so darn interesting.

Scandalous Sandwich

Why scandalous? Well, have you ever had a burger sandwich with spicy kimchi and a sunny-side-up? Oh, you’ve been to Chicago’s BopNGrill and had their kimchi burger?

Well, this is different. This is more scandalous. This one is served on a pretzel bun, crunchified (borrowing Bobby Flay’s term) with fried onions, and doused with chipotle mayonnaise. And then you can serve it with a Dos Equis on the side. If you don’t think that’s so interesting it’s scandalous, you’re asking for too much. And there’s nothing more I can say to you except to bid you my new signature adieu,”Stay hungry, my friends.”

Scandalous Sandwich

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

4 pretzel buns
1 lb. ground beef or meatloaf mix (which is a mix of equal amounts of ground beef, pork, and veal)
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion powder
Salt & pepper
Worcestershire sauce (optional, omit salt if using)

1. Mix seasonings into ground meat, divide into 4 equal portions, and form into patties.
2. Grill or pan-fry on medium-high heat, about 4 minutes on each side.
3. Put a slice of cheese, if using, on the patties during the last 30 seconds of cooking to melt the cheese.
4. Put the meat patties on warmed pretzel buns and top with desired toppings.

Toppings:
Chipotle Mayonnaise
Kimchi
Onion slices
Crunchy fried onions
Cheese slices
Sunny side up eggs
Shredded lettuce or cabbage

Chipotle Mayonnaise (adapted from Bobby Flay’s recipe)

1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, seeds removed
1 tsp sugar
Salt & pepper

Place all ingredients in a food processor and puree.

If you don’t like kimchi, you don’t have to put it on your sandwich. You can use pickles, instead. But I’ll have to say to you what I said to hubby and son, who also refused kimchi on theirs,”That’s fine, it’s a free country. But just so you know, that’s not Scandalous Sandwich you’re having.”

Kimchi burger
The Novice Gardener vs. BopNGrill. Hands down, The Novice Gardener. Right?

***

Zero to Hero #16 assigns us to personalize a prompt, which this post attempts to do, and #17 to visit several other blogs writing about the same prompt and comment on at least two of them. I’ll go right to it in a minute.

And I must be psychic or something. I correctly anticipated that #18 would have something to do with social media, so I created a Facebook page the night before the assignment was revealed. So, you’re free to like me on Facebook if you want to. Really, it’s free to like. Next up, twitter, if I even know how to tweet.

I don’t know about you, but I’m having fun with this Zero to Hero.

Update: Sean Connery is not Irish. He is Scottish. Don’t know why I thought he was Irish. Much have been the Dos Equis. Thank you to Sir Johnny Hepburn for pointing out the error. Yes, I’ve just knighted him.

