Tags

, , , , , ,

In case you didn’t know, today happens to be Chinese New Year. And you know what else is happening on Sunday, right? Mr. Bruno Mars in the house! Well, in the Super Bowl, really. Looks like Fiesta Friday is off to an auspicious start. I’m sure you are all planning something exciting, either in anticipation of Chinese New Year or the Super Bowl. Or, you’re just excited it’s Friday. Either way, tell us about it.

Hubby and I will be taking the kids to Chinatown to celebrate Chinese New Year tonight, and maybe again tomorrow. No way am I going to cook and make a mess in my kitchen between now and the big day on Sunday. In case you didn’t know, I’m a huge fan of Bruno Mars, and I’m planning a mini party for myself. What, you never throw a party for yourself? I think you’re missing out.

Hopefully, we’ll find a parking spot. Philadelphia Chinatown is notorious for its lack of parking spaces, unless you are willing to pay premium parking fee of $10/hour or $30/day. Which I think is so ridiculous. 

If Motel 6 charges you $30/night and it gives you a bed and a bathroom, then a car spot can’t possibly charge as much without the b & b. Actually, I don’t know how much Motel 6 charges, but I’m assuming its rates are reasonable. And $30/night is reasonable IMO. Especially if you have to cohabit with cockroaches. That was just a joke, okay? Please, I don’t need Motel 6 to serve me with a lawsuit. 

So, when we go to Chinatown, our restaurant of choice is Sang Kee Noodle and Roast Duck. And our food of choice is Sang Kee’s Noodle and Roast Duck, ha!

noodle and dumplings soup

roast duck

Being that it’s Chinese New Year, however, we’ll probably be feasting on a lot more than that. We’ll probably be having Peking Spare Ribs,

peking spare ribs

Stir-fried veggies,

stir fried pea shoots
Greens are a symbol of “luck” since that’s the color of money.

Spring rolls,

spring rolls
‘Cause who knows, maybe it’ll bring Spring that much closer to us. It’s been freezing for far too long!

Maybe we’ll even eat fish, supposedly a symbol of luck, too, due to their scales resembling coins.

Now you know it doesn’t take much to convince me to tuck in. Any excuse will do. Chinese New Year, the Super Bowl, St. Patrick’s Day, Fat Tuesday, Cinco de Mayo, Fourth of July, just being alive. All are perfectly legitimate reasons to feast. Why discriminate?

Besides, it’s Fiesta Friday! One heck of a reason to celebrate! So, what are YOU doing for Fiesta Friday?

***

To find out how you can join the party, read the Fiesta Friday Blog Party Guidelines.

Clicking the image above will bring you to the party!

Look at who have joined the party! Mix and mingle, people! Visit each other’s site and leave a nice comment. I want my buddies to know and interact with each other.

Mr Fitz

Pizza Friday

Chickpea Fritters

Banana Pancakes

Cocas

Chili Chicken

Favorite Farmer’s Market

Stuffed Grape Leaves

Orecchiette with Kale

Chicken Burrito Bowl

Chocolate Cream Cups

Chinese Almond Cookies


Maple Taffy

Fiesta Friday!

Eliopita

Treats from outer space

I survived Snowpocalypse

Sweet potato and tahini cakes

Super Bowl XLVIII Sliders

Big JetBlue Plane

Super Bowl Treats


Flaming skirts, fiestas &
little bit of oooh la la!

Catbird Quilt Studio
post #100
