Tags

, , , , , ,

wonton noodle soup TNG

We were being walloped by another snow storm. More back-breaking shoveling for hubby (Time to get a snow blower?) and muddy snow slush (It didn’t take long for the pristine snow to get brown.) mixed with salt splashing my car after I just cleaned it (Well, hubby did. He’s my lifeline.) and if these snow-trodden feet could get any colder, they would turn into ice and fall off in chunks. It’s very possible. They’ve already lost their faculty to feel.

In other words, it was general winter misery all over again. Hopefully, one last round. Enough is enough! Mother Nature and Father Winter, please, hear my plea (delivered in the most earnest of voices, with cherry on top?) ((I think they were listening. It’s sunny out today, and warm sorta.))

Thank goodness work was short because of the snow. I really just wanted to stay home under the blanket. Maybe with a cup of tea, and the shamrock scones I made in honor of St. Patrick’s Day. Or I could use a bowl of soup. Think comfort. Think chicken. Think noodle. Now, think China. You got it. Wonton noodle soup. That was what I wanted.

Wonton Noodle Soup@TNG

Wonton Noodle Soup

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the wontons
1 lb ground chicken (or pork)
1 cup minced shrimps (or imitation crab meat)
2 tbsp chopped green onion
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp rice wine or sherry (optional)
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp ground pepper
50 wonton wrappers

Optional additions: Finely chopped water chestnuts or Chinese (Shiitake) mushrooms

1. Mix all filling ingredients.
2. Place about 1 tsp of filling in the center of a wrapper. Moisten the edges of the wrapper with water (or beaten egg), and then fold it in half, pressing the edges to seal.
3. Pull the left and right corners together and overlap one over the other, sealing the overlap with a little bit of water. It’s just like making a tortellini.
4. Drop the wontons one by one into boiling water and simmer for about 5 minutes. Drain and add to the soup.

how to make wontons or tortellini

For the soup
6 cups chicken stock
1 inch piece of fresh ginger, bruised
Salt & pepper (only if needed)
Cooked Chinese noodles or angel hair pasta

1. Add ginger to chicken stock and bring to a boil, adding salt & pepper if needed.
2. If you use Chinese or Shiitake mushrooms in your wonton filling, add the stems to the stock to add extra flavor.

Optional additions: Chopped green onions, fried shallots, sesame seed oil, or garlic oil (my favorite).

garlic oil

Garlic oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Heat the oil and garlic in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir frequently and watch the garlic closely. As soon as garlic becomes golden in color and slightly crispy on the edges, remove from the heat. It will continue to heat until garlic turns golden brown and completely crispy. If you wait until garlic becomes brown, it’ll be too late and your oil will turn bitter. You can make this in advance and store in the refrigerator for up to 2/3 weeks.

chinese wonton noodle soup

I had a party to go to. I had said I would go. But the wonton soup held me back until it was too late and my body refused to get off the comfort and warmth of the kitchen (wonton soup has that effect on you). My deepest apology to my girlfriend Terry. I’ll make it up to you, okay?

