Tags

, , , , , , ,

Loaded Pumpkin Waffles

Pumpkin Waffles with Pumpkin Spice Syrup

Okay, confession time. Can anyone go to a store with a list in hand and come out only with the things on the list? Coz’ I can’t. Bravo to those who can. It takes a lot of restraint to not get distracted by displays, samples, or sales. Especially sales. They derail my meal plans all the time.

I really came here just for milk and eggs, but hey, you see that pumpkin purée on sale? Gotta get some. Maybe I’ll make pumpkin bread. Not really in the mood for it, but so what? Maybe I’ll give it to my neighbor Mary. She’s so nice…

Wow, chocolate morsels for how much? I think that’s a good price so I think I’ll get some. Who knows I might make chocolate chip cookies this week. Even though I haven’t made them in like 2 years.

And butter! I put it on everything, anyway, so I’m going to stock up. Besides, I’ve always wanted to make ghee. It’s time to finally find out what ghee-making is all about, girl!

That’s pretty much how my conversation with myself usually goes when I’m at the store.

So, when the stores started putting up baking supplies for sale, I started hoarding. I thought I was being organized. I was going to have everything ready for the inevitable baking marathon that commences once the holidays are upon us. You know what? I thought wrong.

‘Coz now I can’t even close my cupboard. And whenever I need anything other than those baking supplies, I can’t get to it. Unless I rearrange the whole content of the cupboard. And who has time for that? I much rather sweep the floor. I’m serious. Sweeping is like my favorite chore ever. You know, the witch and the broom. Oh, yes, I’m a witch. Once a month. Halloween or not. You know what I mean.

But back to my overloaded cupboard. I looked at it and I swear it looked back at me and mouthed, “Help me!” I’m a nice witch. I help whenever I am asked. I decided to relieve my cupboard and make something that uses all those ingredients I hoarded in one single recipe. Pumpkin Waffles. Loaded Pumpkin Waffles.

My kids and I inhaled a stack of these in a matter of minutes, they were so good! We left none for their dad. He woke up too late. Oh, well, like they say…good things come to those who didn’t wait. I meant to say…if you snooze, you lose…

pumpkin waffles

Loaded Pumpkin Waffles (w/ GF and whole wheat options)

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

I tried many different recipes, including those that I found online, before coming up with this one. I tried one that uses yeast (not good), one that includes corn starch and claims to be the ultimate recipe (not great), and one that yielded such bland waffles I needed to add so much syrup before I could say they tasted okay.

This one is the best, IMO. The cake flour and buttermilk produce light and fluffy waffles. Crisp on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. So good you don’t even need syrup to enjoy these!

Pumpkin Waffles
1 cup cake flour*
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp light brown sugar**
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
A pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
A pinch of salt
1 large egg yolk
2 large egg whites
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 tbsp melted butter
1/4 cup pumpkin purée
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup toasted chopped walnuts (optional)

1. Combine flour and all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
2. In a different bowl, mix egg yolk, pumpkin purée, buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla. Whisk to blend. Pour into flour mixture and whisk to combine.
3. In a third bowl, whip egg whites until soft peaks form. Fold into batter. Add nuts, if using.
4. Heat your waffle maker and pour about 2 tbsp of batter into each section of the waffle maker, to make mini waffles. Cook for about 2 1/2 minutes – 3 minutes, or until waffles are nicely browned and crisp.
5. Serve with Pumpkin Spice Syrup, Spiced Apple Topping, and toasted or candied walnuts.

*For gluten-free waffles, substitute the flour with 1/2 cup oat flour + 1/2 cup rice flour. (These are our 2nd favorite, just behind the cake-flour version. The rice flour makes the waffles really crispy.)

*If using whole wheat flour, add 1/4 cup more buttermilk + 1 more egg white, since whole wheat flour absorbs more liquid. (These came in third in our taste test. Not bad, just not a favorite.)

**Turn these waffles into snacks by adding 1 tbsp more sugar and forego the syrup altogether.

Pumpkin Spice Syrup
2/3 cup water
2/3 cup light brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 whole cloves
2 tbsp pumpkin purée

1. Mix water and sugar in a small saucepan. Stir until sugar dissolves.
2. Place over medium-high heat and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.
3. Reduce heat to simmer. Add the spices and pumpkin puree, stir to combine. Simmer for 5-7 minutes. Remove from heat and strain syrup before using.

Spiced Apple Topping
2 apples, peeled and sliced thinly
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
1 tbsp butter

1. Heat butter in a saucepan. Add apples and sugar and cook until apples are soft, but not mushy.
2. Add cinnamon and nutmeg. Remove from heat and serve with waffles.

***

Halloween pumpkin waffles

Halloween Waffles
And because it’s Halloween, you decorate your waffles with a chocolate cobweb, which will melt from the heat of the waffles, creating chocolate sauce.

***

Features from Fiesta Friday #39 are:


Banana Chocolate Chip Cake with Milk Chocolate Buttercream from Lily @Little Sweet Baker.

In Suzanne’s words, “Lily did such a beautiful job of decorating this cake. It sounds delicious and looks just beautiful.”

I couldn’t have agreed more. That cake is be-yoo-ti-ful, Lily! And it’s not your run-of-the-mill birthday cake, either, with bananas and chocolate chips in it. Now, if only more bakeries would offer a birthday cake like this one, I wouldn’t have to make any birthday cake ever again at home.


Baeckeoffe from Ginger @Ginger & Bread.

Every now and then, I crave meat. Red meat. A lot of it. And this Baeckoffe would definitely satisfy when one of those moments come, so I’m saving this recipe. But I probably will have to make this even before those cravings start to hit. How do I know that? I made a mistake of showing this to hubby, and of course, now I’ll have to make it for him. I can never refuse those pleading big brown eyes of his!


Paneer Tikka Masala from Naina @Spice In The City.

Naina has a way of making her food look so mouth-watering. This one is no exception. I almost licked my iMac monitor when I saw this. It looks so uber tempting, Naina! Note to self: Time to look for paneer, or learn to make it. This one will stay bookmarked in the meantime.


Garlic Butter Clover Bread Rolls from Hannah @Domestic Gothess.

Have you ever seen more gorgeous bread rolls than these? I think not! These will command attention at any party, they’re so gorgeous! So, with that in mind, I’m totally making them and bringing them to my next potluck. I so want to be the belle of the ball, even at potlucks. And if I show up with these rolls, I think I’ll be it! Thank you for the step-by-step photo illustrations, Hannah!

***

Fiesta Friday #40 starts right now, with the fabulous Margy @La Petite Casserole and the fantastic Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook as your co-hosts. Link up, good people! Give your co-hosts something to read, look at, smell, taste, or comment on, etc. They’ll be happy to welcome you to the party, as I!

Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Jing

Kaila

Mandi

Tina

Michelle

Kaila

Michelle

Michelle

Josette

Claudia

MB

MB

MB

Sonal

Hannah

Hannah

Justine

Lisa

Nick

Skd

Loretta

Jhuls

Julie

Alyce

Elaine

Dini

Dini

Stephanie

Juju

Sue

Cat

Melissa

Julianna

Margy

Anjana

Anjana

Andrea

Andrea

Naina

Sarah

Hilda

Liz

Cristina

Prudy

Arl

Meaghan

Meaghan

Shelly

Jess

Lindy

Bonnie

Tracy

Johanne

Suzanne

Katie

Jess M

Meaghan

Sandhya

Apsara

Apsara

Tracey

Nino

Nino

Anna

Cynthia

Cynthia

Ted

Claudia

Su

Justyna

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Selma

Simi

Swayam

Swayam

Andy

Sarah

Swayam

Kunstkitchen

Ted

Chitra

Chitra

Linda

Petra

Justine

Ted

Ted

Chris

Su

Ted

Anugya

Chris

Anugya

Ted

Ted

Amanda

Amanda

Justine G.

Sonal

You’re next!

