Tags

, , , , ,

red white blue food

This Fiesta Friday is in danger of quickly turning into a Siesta Saturday at the rate I’m going, which is a snail’s pace. Let’s blame it on the heat and humidity. They turn me into a lazy, sluggish sloth. How in the world is today Friday again? And all of a sudden, it’s also 4th of July! I swear it was still June a week ago!

I’m pretty sure I’m the world’s most disorganized blogger. A good blogger would have already prepared her post way in advance, knowing the event was coming. She would have done her homework, made a decision on what to write about, come up with a plan on how to present the subject, and arranged to take photos to accompany the post. All in advance.

A good blogger, for instance, would have posted a 4th of July post days or weeks before the holiday. I see good bloggers everywhere, already cooking or crafting or writing red, white, and blue. Way back in the Spring. You know, just like the stores. They displayed Americana months ago in anticipation of the day.

This lousy disorganized blogger, on the other hand? I got nothin’. I didn’t prepare anything. Nada, nil, zero, zilch. But not to worry, I have a plan. I’ll let you party today with my two beautiful gals, Margy @La Petite Casserole and Sylvia @Superfoodista while I immerse myself in the kitchen, preparing all kinds of patriotic food. I promise. You will see plenty of red, white, and blue at this party later.

***

Now, features from last week:

Yema Cake from Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook. What can I say? That Yema Cake looks yummy. Yup, Yummy Yema. This is the first time I heard of this cake, Jhuls. But one look is all it takes to get me drooling. It looks so moist, scrumptious, and pretty, too. Such a happy-looking cake. Just wonderful!

Wholesome Indian Meal {Aloo-Palak Paratha, Palak Dal & Quick Aam Achar} from Anjana @At the Corner of Happy and Harried. Now this is a post. It’s not just one recipe, it’s an entire meal. Very convenient for when I get the hankering for an Indian dinner. There is no need to google different individual recipes. Everything you need is right there. Much appreciated, Anjana!

Paleo, Vegan Chocolate Chips from DetoxMama. In Prudy’s words, “The photos say it all. Look at that beautiful little girl, and the concentration in her eyes to make the most perfect, deliciously healthy chocolate chips. Now look at the pride in her face as she stands there showing her hard work. Like I said the photos say it all. Love this post.” In Elaine’s words, “…this is just so cool!” I agree. Cute little girl + Chocolate = Cool!

Chocolate and Fig Shortbread from Lindy @Love in the Kitchen. This post speaks to me and for me, and possibly all little children everywhere. What child likes dried figs? But wait, give the child time to grow and the fig will grow on her. Go FIGure! And I haven’t even touched the recipe yet, which is in one word, outstandingly sophisticated. OK, two words. Love the post, Lindy! I swear something similar happened to me.

***

Okay, party animals, Fiesta Friday #23 is now open! Margy is eager to party with you, and is here ready to welcome you. Sylvia will join a little bit later, but will be as eager to party and welcome you, too. Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Tina

Kaila

Jhuls

Lisa

Mermaid

Sarah

Ahila

Margy

Hilda

Apsara

Loretta

Lori

Lauzan

Charanya

Nick

Nino

Noony

Elaine

Lily

Anna

Anjana

Sue

Nimmi

Andrea

Julianna

Namrata

Arl

Sarah

Justine

Justyna

Aditi & Nikhil

Tracey

Jess

Skd

Sylvia

DetoxMama

Katkapow

Michelle

MB

Krumkaker

Cynthia

Indira

Nimmi

Su

Indu

Naina

Suzanne

Meghan

Nicky

Anna

Catherine

Dave

Meaghan

Meaghan

Ted

Chitra

Frankie

Prudy

Saucy

Claudia

Too Zesty

Stacey

Garima

Paula

Linda

Mr Fitz

Charanya

Jess M

Avni

Mr Fitz

Sonal

Jess

Shelly

Su

Laura

Nell

Petra

Martina

Saucy

Jing

Aruna

Cristina

Malar

Radhika

Angenette

Charanya

You’re next!