Tags

, , , , , , ,

Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich

Thanksgiving Day Sandwich

You know why I put up with hosting and cooking the all-day affair aka Thanksgiving Dinner every year? The answer is…..so that I have a fridge full of leftovers. Aren’t they the best part of Thanksgiving, the leftovers? C’mon, let’s be frank. I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. Amirite?

Without leftovers there wouldn’t be a second meal to look forward to. And then, the saddest part of all, there wouldn’t be the Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich. That wouldn’t be right. Wouldn’t be right at all!

So, on Thanksgiving Day, I’m thankful for the leftovers. I’m happy and feel blessed that my fridge is full and I don’t have to cook again for at least half a week. And that I can feed my family leftovers sandwiches, for which they are thankful!

There are many more reasons to be thankful, of course, too many to list here, but the sandwich is one of them. What about you? What are you thankful for?

Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich


A loaf of baguette (or any crusty bread)
Thanksgiving leftovers
Bacon
Lettuce

1. Start by slicing your bread in half.
2. Pull out some of the interior crumb of the bread.
3. Start layering your leftovers, starting with cranberry sauce, then turkey slices, stuffing/dressing, more turkey, bacon, lettuce, etc.
4. Drizzle some gravy, too, between some of the layers.
5. Serve immediately.

Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich

***

Features from FF43 are:

Mille Crêpe Cake from Tina @Mademoiselle Gourmande.

In Stephanie’s words, “This recipe might not have been as easy as snapping your fingers but I thought that the time that Tina put into making this cake was WELL worth it– because I got to sit at my computer and drool over it. (A few times throughout the day, to be honest).”

When I made my Mille Crêpe Cake (remember?), I thought I found an incredible recipe. Until I saw Tina’s. This is even better! This is incredibler! I know exactly what Stephanie is talking about. I’m drooling all over my computer now.

White Chocolate Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls from Hannah @Domestic Gothess.

In Tracy’s words, “Um. These are ridiculous. As if the white chocolate pumpkin cinnamon rolls aren’t enough, that white chocolate cream cheese glaze I want to drizzle on everything!”

Pumpkin and white chocolate, wow! Why didn’t I think of that combination before? It sounds like a winner to me! I’m giving this a try. You should, too!

Purgatory Eggs from Mandi @MADAVOCADO.

Whaaat?? That title alone should get your attention. And is that a smiley on the egg? Whaaat?? Definitely got my attention now. Seriously, this sounds so simple and so yummy. After an all day Thanksgiving dinner affair, a simple brunch like this is just the ticket. Thank you, Mandi! I will follow your advice, I won’t go fancy with this. Stick to simple, I geddit!

A New Take on Lobster Bisque from Petra @Food Eat Love.

In Stephanie’s words, “Petra took a risk and steered away from all of the classic lobster bisque recipes – and from what I can see, that was the RIGHT thing to do! This bisque is creamy, and full of fresh, delicious lobster. She definitely stole my heart with this one :)”

It’s been years since I last made lobster bisque. I can’t even remember what goes in it, it’s been that long. But Petra’s version sounds tantalizing! Next time I make lobster bisque, I’ll reach for her recipe. Hopefully it won’t take me more years to get to it.

Poached Pear Salad with Blue Cheese, Candied Walnuts and Bacon from Johanne @French Gardener Dishes.

In Tracy’s words, “I just love the idea of a poached pear in a salad. Plus, I don’t think you can do any wrong with blue cheese, caramelized walnuts and bacon.”

This must be what people call an inspired dish. I never really understood the term before. But just look at that deconstructed pear. So creative! Plus, like Tracy said, how can you go wrong with blue cheese, caramelized walnuts and bacon?

***

I know I’m late in opening this fiesta this morning, but I have a feeling you’ll let me slide. It’s the day after Thanksgiving, after all. I’m sure you’d understand. You know, don’t you, it’s very hard to wake up from a food coma? I hope my co-hosts are wide awake! Hey, guys, wake up!! It’s Fiesta Friday #44!! Yeah, I’m talking to you, Prudy @Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs and Jess @Cooking Is My Sport.

Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Tina

Michelle

Kaila

Michelle

Meghan

Jing

Jhuls

Claudia

Lily

Hannah

Hannah

Melissa

Claudia

Sarah

Julie

Julie

Petra

Julianna

Jess

Elaine

Arl

Liz

Andrea

Meaghan

Meaghan

Anna

Gina

Katkapow

Stephanie

Selma

Nino

Nino

Polianthus

Mermaid

Simon

Juju

Cynthia

Margy

Caroline

Anugya

Anugya

Alyce

Shelly

Tracy

Ted

Ted

Chitra

Chitra

Anjana

Anjana

Anjana

Mr Fitz

Ili

Skd

Mandi

Simi

Nick

Nimmi

Sarah

Justine

Justyna

Ted

Ted

Ted

Nell

Johanne

Johanne

Krumkaker

Su

Nimmi

Fida

Naina

Linda

Ted

Ted

Anu

Ted

Ted

Aditi & Nikhil

Sadia

You’re next!