Tags

, , ,

I have a blue Christmas…..

Literally…..

blue christmas

blue christmas

christmas tree cookie stacks

As you can see, I didn’t mean blue as in sad. Maybe a little, since I’m opening Fiesta Friday #48 all by my lonesome self. That’s right, I’m giving all my co-hosts a Christmas break. It’s the right thing to do. Just beware, next week I’ll be knocking at your door again asking for help. I hope you won’t mind. Let me know if any of you are willing to co-host.

***

Before we party, let’s take a look at last week’s outstanding posts. So many of them were exceptional, really, but these were the ones that caught our eyes the most:


Cottage Cheese and Cranberry Pie from Mila @milkandbun

It’s a cheesecake made with cottage cheese. Well, that’s practically zero calorie, isn’t it? 😀 Okay, maybe it’s not exactly zero calorie, but it’s close to being healthy food, isn’t it? 😀 Okay, I’m pretty sure it’s healthier than regular cheesecake. Besides, who cares really when you can have such a gorgeous cake?! It’s too pretty for words, Mila! Such fabulous-looking cake!


Roasted Tomato & Butternut Squash Soup from Sue @birgerbird.

In Indu’s words, “I loved Sue’s ravishing roasted butternut squash and tomato soup. The presentation was simply gorgeous! Roasted tomatoes and butternut squash sounds like a perfect marriage of flavors – the nutty with the tangy.”

I, too, love the look and sound of this soup. Sue’s food photos are always so enticing. Big, bold and sumptuous! And only she can come up with such perfect flavor combinations. Every. Single. Time.


Family Traditions from Juju @Cooking with Aunt Juju

In Jhuls’ words, “I don’t celebrate or observe Christmas, but I really adore anything related to Christmas like candy canes, Christmas lights, gingerbread men, gingerbread houses and a lot more. There are things we usually see during Christmas, but I admire how Aunt Juju is keeping the tradition of making gingerbread houses during the holidays. And I just love the photos she shared – so adorable.”

It really is nice to see traditions being kept alive, especially one as special as making gingerbread house as a family. Juju makes it sound so much fun, I might even want to adopt this tradition for my own. The last time I made gingerbread house, I ended up eating the decorations before the house was finished. Let’s hope I’ll be less impatient next time.


Orange Mince Pie Pastry from Selma @Selma’s Table.

In Indu’s words, “I thoroughly enjoyed reading the whole post which talked about her childhood days and how she longed for a christmas tree. Loved her recipe of mince pie with the addition of citrus in the pastry dough.”

I have to second Indu on the story part. Oh, how I wish I could bring that sweet little girl a huge tree decorated with tinsel and shiny ornaments and lights! Yes, Selma! If we could only go back in time! By the way, my kids also had their own small trees in their rooms when they were little. Son’s decorated with sports figure ornaments and daughter’s with Barbie ornaments. I’m not kidding! But then again I used to work for Hallmark.

That mince pie recipe is a keeper, too. Mince pies are not very popular in the states. I wonder why? Maybe it’s time to start the trend! Besides Selma’s excellent recipe, check out Caroline’s Mince Pies and Michelle’s Mince Pies for different variations.

***

It’s party time! Link your post! Tell us what you did or what you had or what you made on Christmas Day or what you’ll do or have or make on New Year’s Day. Or just hang out with us. Either way, we’ll be happy to have you!

Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Lucy

Tina

Mr Fitz

Jhuls

Dini

Dini

Varina

MB

Kaila

Juju

Sadia

Loretta

Caroline

Nick

Andrea

Michelle

Michelle

Michelle

Julie

Sarah

Indira

Sarah

Suzanne

Hilda

Sue

Cynthia

Sonal

Arlene

Justine G

Justine

Naina

Naina

Claudia

Claudia

Su

Melanie & Jim

Alyce

Marta

Lily

Anugya

Anugya

Anna

Sonal

Sonal K

Shelly

Noodles4Thoughts

Noodles4Thoughts

Linda

Cristina

Petra

Stephanie

Justine

Sarah

Rena

Meaghan

Meaghan

Hannah

Hannah

Johanne

Johanne

Elaine

Lucy

Indu