Tags

, , , , , , , ,

boerenomelet

boerenomelet

Some people at work made me cry the other day, by being their usual petty and psychotic self. Don’t worry, nobody at work really reads my blog, so I’m not in any danger of exposing anyone. Besides, it’s not like you know where I work. And if you can’t even complain to your virtual friends, in your own personal blog, who can you complain to?

Your husband? Great idea! I’ll go whine to him now ……….

Okay, he took action, my kick-ass husband. Sorry for the language, but “my forceful and impressive husband” doesn’t have the effect I was looking for. And no, he didn’t kick anybody’s behind. He’s a loving and peaceful man. He took action by telling me to relax and giving me a head massage. Crying always brings on a headache for me.

And then, he took care of dinner. No, no, he didn’t cook. He’s no chef, my loving, peaceful, kick-ass husband. He bought dinner, instead. He happens to be very good at buying dinner. Always coming home with the right stuff that hits the spot. You know, stuff I love to eat but never cook at home, like calamari fritto.

But he did not just buy dinner, he also brought home entertainment. He got a movie, a funny one, something to make me laugh. If you haven’t watched The Grand Budapest Hotel, I highly recommend it. Definitely got me laughing and forgetting my bad day.

That was the other day’s story. Today, I’m repaying his kindness by cooking him his favorite meal. Breakfast for dinner. He’s a simple man, my kick-behind husband.

boerenomelet farmer's omelet

farmer's omelet

Boerenomelet (Farmer's Omelet)

  • Servings: generous 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Boerenomelet is a popular Dutch-version omelet. It’s what I would call a loaded omelet, with plenty of vegetables, meat, cheese, and herbs. There isn’t a fast rule about what you can put in it. Popular vegetables include carrots, leeks, mushrooms, peas, peppers, potatoes, and tomatoes, but I’ve had a boerenomelet with green beans and scallions, too. All variations are delicious.

12 eggs (3 eggs per serving)
8 tbsp milk
1/2 lb bacon, cut into small pieces
1 cup grated Gouda cheese
1/2 lb baby potatoes (about 6-8)
1 cup mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 leek, washed thoroughly and thinly sliced
1 small red pepper, thinly sliced
2 carrots, thinly sliced
1/2 cup peas
Chopped parsley
Chopped chives
Salt & pepper
Olive oil or butter

1. Fry bacon in a skillet until browned and crisp. Remove and drain on paper towel.
2. You can use the bacon fat to sauté the vegetables, if you like. If not, use a different skillet to sauté the vegetables, in olive oil or butter.
3. Fry potato slices until they are cooked and tender. Set aside and keep warm.
4. Sauté the rest of the vegetables, separately, in olive oil or butter, until cooked. Place them in bowls and keep them warm, until you’re ready to make the omelets.
5. For each omelet, beat 3 eggs with 2 tbsp of milk. Melt butter, over medium-heat, in a sauté pan. Pour egg mixture and let it spread evenly.
6. Top the eggs with the vegetables, as little or as much as you like.
7. Season with salt and pepper.
8. Sprinkle about 1/4 cup of cheese and 1 tbsp of chopped herbs.
9. Cover the pan and let it cook for about 3-4 minutes, or until eggs are set and cheese has melted.
10. Slide omelet on a plate, folding it over as you go. Serve immediately, as is, or on a piece of toasted bread.

If you’re making this for one person, you can use a one-pan method, where you fry the bacon first, then add the vegetables and sauté them until cooked, then pour beaten eggs, and sprinkle the cheese and herbs, all in the same pan. Generally, however, it’s easier to have pre-cooked fillings ready when making multiple omelets.

By the way, lest you think I work with a bunch of nasty people, let me assure you I don’t. Everybody, and I mean it, is truly kind and lovely where I work. The only exceptions being Thing 1 and Thing 2.

***

Now, features from last week’s fiesta:


Delicious Summer Veggie Kebabs from Serena@foodfulife. Looking at the pictures in Serena’s posts always makes me happy. This one is no exception. Those grilled vegetables are so bright and colorful, and most importantly, threaded on skewers. Anything on skewers deserves my attention, if you ask me. Very nice, Serena! These are perfect for summer entertaining.


Golden Pocket (Thai appetizer) (ถุงทอง) from Pang@Circa Happy. In Julianna’s words, “I was completely infatuated by these golden pockets! I love the recipe, the photography, and the styling. This is another recipe that I just wanted to run to the kitchen to make!” Ditto, Julianna, about the recipe, the photography, the styling, the running to the kitchen, and of course, the making. Just so lovely, Pang!


Summer Crush: Strawberry Falooda with Homemade Strawberry Syrup from Naina@Spice in the City. In Julianna’s words, “I just think that her Strawberry Faloodas are the epitome of summer. I liked the unusual ingredients of the basil seeds and vermicelli with the gorgeous homemade strawberry sauce. Her photographs absolutely made me want to run out and buy the ingredients to make them on the spot. Ahhh, summer!” Ditto again, Julianna! Everything you said! Excellent, Naina!


Peanut Butter Bacon Dog Treats from Stephanie@The Cozy Cook. In Elaine’s words, “I love Stephanie’s dog biscuits. Sorry, can’t help but be drawn to the dog treats!!” I don’t own a dog right now, but who knows I might get one in the future. And when I do, these tasty treats would definitely be made and given to the future pet. Just look at them! They look so adorable, and delectable enough even for humans. Well-done, Stephanie!

***

Elaine@foodbod has graciously agreed to stay on as co-host for Fiesta Friday #22. Thanks, Elaine! Then, Prudy@Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs bailed me out when I needed a second co-host. In addition, Prudy has graciously offered her derriere-kicking service to help with Thing 1 and Thing 2. Thank you, Prudy! What would I do without you?

Fiesta Friday #22 is now open. Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Tina

Jhuls

Arlene

Anjana

Sue

Prudy

Lisa

Selma

Nick

Tracy

Ahila

Michelle

MB

Lori

Michelle

MB

Loretta

Lina

Hilda

Lina

Claudia

Elamb

Superfoodista

Lily

Charanya

Sonal

Nimmi

Anna

Meaghan

Meaghan

Sarah

Charanya

Angenette

Chitra

Mr Fitz

Elaine

Lindy

Andrea

Alex

Laura

Katkapow

Sarah

Justine

Linda

Julianna

Tracey

Kaila

Jess

Eatmunchlove

Nicky

Malar

Mr Fitz

CaféGarima

Nino

Mr Fitz

Naina

Dimple

Lauzan

Mermaid

Aditi & Nikhil

Ted

Sheri

Suzanne

Anna

Shelly

Nell

Su

Catherine

Jess M

Ivy

Martine

NancyC

Aspara

Vidya

Skd

Ayesha

Josette

Saucy

Aruna

Saucy

Frankie

Eatmunchlove

Nimmi

Dave

Indu

Janine

Paula

Krumkaker

Polianthus

DetoxMama

DetoxMama

Gerard

Jing

Cris

Indira

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Petra

You’re next!