Tags

, , , , ,

plum with sabayon

plum and sabayon gratin

Someone has this giant potluck party to go to. If that someone was organized and wasn’t so fickle, she would have planned ahead, had something prepared and been ready to go. But of course that never happened. After changing her mind a million times, she still didn’t have anything to bring to the party.

Considering that she is the host and organizer of the party, this is quite unbelievable. Obviously, I’m talking about myself and Fiesta Friday.

This happens every week, by the way. You’d think I’d learned by now. This is, after all, party #20.

Fortunately, after being so close to giving up, I happened upon this easy and speedy recipe from Food & Wine. I would have come to my own party empty-handed, otherwise.

With the exception of the plums, all the ingredients are pantry or refrigerator staples. A quick trip to the store to get the plums is all that’s needed to get started. As a bonus, plums happen to be the fruit on sale this week, at merely 99 cents per pound. It’s just meant to be.

Plum and Sabayon Gratin

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

The fruit/plum sauce
2 tbsp unsalted butter
3 tbsp sugar
5 small plums (about 1 lb), pitted and sliced into thin wedges

1. In a skillet, over medium-high heat, melt butter with the sugar until foaming. Add plum slices, and cook, stirring occasionally, until plums are softened and the sauce has thickened slightly, about 4 minutes.
2. Divide plums equally among four 7-oz ramekins, saving several pieces for garnish. Set aside.

The sabayon
1/2 cup Moscato d’Asti or other dessert wine
1/3 cup sugar
4 x-large egg yolks
 
1. Preheat the broiler at 350° F.
2. In a large stainless-steel bowl, whisk together the wine and sugar, until sugar dissolves.
3. Add the egg yolks and whisk to combine.
4. Set the bowl over a pan of gently simmering water and continue to whisk vigorously. Don’t let the bottom of the bowl touch the water. You can give your arm a break a few times, but try not to stop for too long, to prevent eggs from scrambling.
5. Mixture will start to get frothy and eventually thick and lighter in color, in about 8 minutes.
6. Remove from the heat and whisk until the sabayon is cooled slightly, about 1 minute.
7. Spoon sabayon into the ramekins filled with plums. Place on a baking sheet and set 3 inches under the broiler. Broil for 45 seconds-1 minute. Watch closely, it burns very quickly. Serve warm, garnished with plum slices.

***

Last week, I left you in the capable hands of Prudy@Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs and Sue@Birgerbird. And true to form, they handled the fiesta expertly. Everything was smooth sailing, even though we had record-breaking 88 entries. So, thank you, Prue & Sue! Look at you two! Making my dreams come true! Okay, I was just trying to rhyme, but you are my dream co-hosts.

And now, I’m delighted to announce this week’s Fiesta Friday co-hosts. Fae@Fae’s Twist and Tango and Suzanne@apuginthekitchen. They hardly need an introduction, really. Their huge presence in the food blogging scene must have been felt across the blogosphere, or at least WordPress.

Fae’s recipes are an amalgam of great cuisines of the world, befitting her international background. Born in Iran, raised in Japan, and now residing in California, she has travelled and tried and cooked the best food from every corner of the globe, but why am I telling you her life story? She can tell it much better herself. Go visit her, you won’t be disappointed.

Suzanne is a serious food blogger with a healthy respect for the art of cooking. I have no doubt you will appreciate her knowledge and skills as I do. She has quite an arsenal of excellent recipes that work. You don’t have to take my word, just try a recipe, any recipe, and the result will speak for itself.

Welcome them, please, with lots of love and warmth. I am beyond thrilled they’ve accepted the “mission impossible” assignment of co-hosting. It’s getting harder every week to control the marauding crowd! The loveliest marauding crowd there is! I love you so much, marauding crowd!

It’s time for features now. What a job it was to select them. So many extraordinary entries to choose from. But choose we must. So, here they are:


Triple Berry Slab Pie from Jess@Cooking Is My Sport. In Sue’s words, “This was [Jess’s] first pie crust and the post talks about taking healthy pride in one’s creations! I loved the positive and encouraging nature of the post…” In Prudy’s words, “A most heartwarming post if ever there was… a girl making her first pie crust is a big deal, especially when it comes out absolutely perfect as this one…” I think we all shared Jess’s pride and joy. Bravo, my dear, bravo!


Poached Egg over Herb Parmesan “polenta” with Crispy Bacon Crumbles from Lina@StrictlyDelicious. In Prudy’s words,”…Simply genius [and] brilliant how Lina came up with using wheat cereal in place of polenta, so she and others [with] allergies could now enjoy polenta… This looks so delicious, a meal that I would happily serve to [any] of my guests.” I just need to add one more thing. I’ve never seen myself drool that much looking at that dish. The crumbly bacon, the creamy polenta, the oozing poached egg…


Chipotle Turkey Burgers with Grilled Corn Slaw and Tangy Lime Vinaigrette from Olga@Ocean View Kitchen. I heard chipotle, corn, and tangy lime, and I immediately perked up. Yes, exactly like a meerkat standing sentry. Except I leave my post and run instead to Olga’s. That gourmet burger beckons. And I comply. It looks so mouth-watering, Olga! Summer BBQ, here we come!


Hot Diggity Doggies from Mr Fitz@Cooking with Mr Fitz. In Sue’s words, “For God’s sake, anybody who makes their own hot dogs with collagen skins… gets an award in my book. [This entry] really hit my funny bone. I am crushing on his humor…” Mr Fitz and his doggies. Man and his sausages. You just can’t separate the two. All of that sausage-making is inspiring a few FF friends, Mr Fitz. Including yours truly. I bought myself some casings, just in case.

Congratulations, Features! What superb FF entries you brought! If you’re not selected as features this week, don’t be sad or mad. There are many more fiestas in the future. Many, many more.

***

Fiesta Friday #20 is now open. Click on the button below to add your link and join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta friday, please visit the guidelines.

Lori

Jhuls

Julia

Jeanette

Ahila

Andrea

Anjana

Mermaid

Tina

Julianna

Lina

Lina

Justine

Simi

Gayatri

Laura

Selma

Nell

Fae

Too Zesty!

Petra

Kaila

Melissa

Mr Fitz

Nick

Laura

Indira

The Hungry Mum

Arlene

Linda

Maia

Kirsten

Apsara

Susan

Lily

Meaghan

Meaghan

Nino

Thuy

Ted

DetoxMama

Loretta

Tracy

Suzanne

Olga

Michelle

EatMunchLove

Kirsten

Jess

Malar

Prudy

Anna

Sue

Lindy

Katkapow

Nimmiafzal

Laila

Catherine

Chitra

Charanya

Jess M

Sonal

Sarah

Claudia

Shelly

Shelly

Elaine

Paula

MB

Anna

Justyna

MB

SSP

Avni

Stephanie

Nicky

Kunstkitchen

Kloe

Frankie

Mr Fitz

Mr. Fitz

Noony

Jing

Aruna

Mr Fitz

Krumkaker

Indu

Charanya

Carmen

Erika

Angenette

Margy

You’re next!