Tags

, , , , , , ,

chicken and green tomato curry

green tomato curry

“Where’s my Indian food? I want my Indian food now!”

That was the first thing I said when I woke up this morning. Well, first I whacked the hubs’ thigh and then I said it. Only because I had been craving Indian food and I told him. And of course I fully expected him to do something about it. And you know what he said?

“Good grief, woman! You scared me! You want Indian food, why don’t cha make some?”

Only because I startled him. He hates that. Normally, he’s much more considerate than that. Normally, he would make things happen. If I didn’t startle him, he would have probably offered to either bring home the food or take me to a restaurant.

chicken jalfrezi

Which brings me to this point. Why isn’t there an Indian restaurant in this town? There are easily a dozen Chinese restaurants and a bajillion Italian restaurants and pizza places in the area, but not a single Indian restaurant. Nothing against Chinese or Italian food; they’re two definite favorites, but c’mon now, don’t tell me you don’t, every now and then, crave different flavors, township people?

There’s finally a Thai restaurant now, I’m so thankful. It’s a very good one, by the way, township people, in case you’re wondering. A little pricey, but the food is totally worth it, and that’s all that matters. But where’s the Indian restaurant? Where can I get my Indian food? Grrr…. I guess I’ll have to make my own Indian food, unless I want to drive for half an hour to the nearest restaurant offering Indian cuisine.

What I was hungry for was some kind of chicken bhindi. But I had no bhindi and I was too lazy to get out of the house to buy them. I’m off work at the moment, and when I’m off, I just want to stay in, like in bed. And then I saw all those green tomatoes in the garden.

green tomatoes

Eureka! Green tomato curry! A quick stir-fried curry with green tomatoes and chicken! Like a jalfrezi! Chicken Green Tomato Jalfrezi! I am a genius!

chicken and green tomato jalfrezi

Chicken Green Tomato Jalfrezi

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

The chicken
3 chicken breasts, cut into big chunks
2 tsp garam masala
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp turmeric powder

1. Mix the spices.
2. Coat the chicken pieces with the spice mix and leave to marinate in the fridge for about 2-3 hours.

The vegetables
1 or 2 green tomatoes, sliced thinly
1 sweet bell pepper (any color), sliced thinly

The sauce
1 tsp whole cumin seeds
2 cracked cardamom pods
2 tsp garam masala
1 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeño or any other hot green chile, sliced thinly
1 inch piece ginger, grated or minced
1 cup tomato puree
1/4 cup chicken stock or water
2 tbsp olive oil (divided)
2 tbsp butter (divided)
Salt & pepper

1. Heat a wok or a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 tbsp of oil and 1 tbsp of butter. Add the marinated chicken pieces and stir-fry until chicken is no longer pink. Remove chicken and place on plate. Set aside.
2. Add a little more oil to the skillet. Stir fry the vegetables (bell pepper and green tomatoes) until they’re just cooked. Remove vegetables and set aside.
3. Add the rest of the oil and butter to the skillet. Stir in cumin seeds and cardamom pods and let them sizzle for just a few seconds.
4. Add the garam masala, stir briefly. Add the onion, garlic, ginger, and green chile and stir fry until onion is fully cooked and translucent.
5. Add tomato puree and chicken stock and stir to mix. Add more salt & pepper.
6. Add the chicken and vegetables and stir fry until sauce is thick. (You can add more broth or water if you like a thinner gravy)
7. Serve jalfrezi with rice or naan or chapati.

chapati
So proud of my chapatis. Every single one of them puffed up, yay!

You have more green tomatoes? Make Green Tomato Chili

***

Features from Fiesta Friday #40 are:

Pumpkin Tea Set from Bonnie @Thirsty for Tea.

In Jhuls’ words, “I don’t celebrate or join Halloween, but I always loved seeing spooky decorations and yummy treats. I was used to seeing Jack O’ Lantern, but this Pumpkin Tea Set by Bonnie is one of the most beautiful pumpkin art I have ever seen. AH.MAH.ZING!”

In Margy’s words, “In my [opinion], people with great ideas deserve to be [applauded]. Her “tea setting” is a celebration of human creativity. I particularly appreciated greatly the way she explained all the steps.”

I was shocked, I tell you, shocked, when I saw that Pumpkin Tea Set!! Shocked at the sheer cleverness, creativity, and beauty of it. How utterly ingenious and adorable, Bonnie! You are some kind of a Renaissance Woman or something. A tea goddess, for sure!


Venison With chanterelles, Pumpkin and Potato Puree from Tina @Mademoiselle Gourmande.

In Margy’s words, “Tina wrote a very useful post about some things to do during Autumn. Instead of complaining for the “lost Summer” she’s trying to convince us that Autumn can be a very enjoyable season. I love the “elegant” meal she prepared for her parents, it just seems like it came out from a restaurant!”

A five-star gourmet restaurant, like Daniel in New York! That meal could have easily come out of there! Looks and sounds so wonderfully haute cuisine, Mademoiselle Gourmande! Wouldn’t have minded sitting down in front of that plate. Some lucky parents!


Creamy Chicken and Pumpkin Gnocchi Soup from Andrea @Cooking with a Wallflower.

In Margy’s words, “With this soup, Andrea [put] me in front of one of the more original ways to eat gnocchi. The chicken soup she made is easy and super tasty even without the gnocchi. [However], combining the 2 things (chicken soup and gnocchi) was deserving of a standing ovation.”

Hear, hear! I love the sound of this soup myself. Seasonal, warming, filling, and satisfying – all things that make Fall soups such a comfort food! Don’t we all crave this kind of soup once the temperature goes down? What a fitting recipe for Fall, Andrea!

White Chocolate Birthday Cake from Anna @The Little Blue Mixer.

In Jhuls’ words,” I thought I will be sticking with Halloween, but I just can’t let this FF#40 pass without praising her beautiful cake – the cake was beautifully decorated and it made me happy just by looking at it.”

Me, too, Jhuls! Made me as happy as a clam at high tide looking at that colorful cake. But, really, does anybody know how happy a clam really is at high tide? I think Jhuls and I were happier. We could be happiest, of course, if we could only taste that cake! What a wonderful birthday cake, Anna!

***

Fiesta Friday #41 is now open! And I’m so happy to have my old friend (I don’t mean old like in old. I mean old like in old. You know what I mean.) Nancy @Feasting With Friends co-hosting the party, along with Loretta @Safari of the Mind. Nancy is a veteran at this, while Loretta is a newbie. But they’re both super friendly and welcoming and will visit with each and every one of you, I’m sure.

Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Michelle

Michelle

Michelle

Tina

MB

MB

Mandi

Julie

Shelly

Amanda

Jhuls

Kaila

Amanda

Naina

Julie

Amanda

Nancy

Dini

Dini

Krumkaker

Juju

Elaine

Sonal

Loretta

Lisa

Nick

Stephanie

Lily

Hilda

Melissa

Shikha

Arl

Julianna

Meaghan

Meaghan

Skd

Lina

Andrea

Meaghan

Andy

Tracey

Beth

Claudia

Anu

Sarah

Cynthia

Liz

Ginger

Petra

Tracy

Sarah

Chitra

Chitra

Hannah

Hannah

Nino

Nino

Jess

Mermaid

Su

Justine G

Katkapow

Cat

Anjana

Anjana

Aditi & Nikhil

Katie

Apsara

Anna

Jing

Alyce

Ted

Sonal

NancyC

Nell

Apsara

Johanne

Sandhya

Linda

Namrata

Charanya

Charanya

Josette

Ted

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Justine

Suzanne

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Sarah

Indira

Ted

Namrata

Ted

Chris

Indu

You’re next!

You’re next!