Tags

, , , , ,

Valentine’s Day can be the most exciting day of the year for you, or the most miserable, depending on your situation. But Valentine’s Day that happens to also be a Fiesta Friday day should never be a miserable day for anyone. Whether you receive a valentine or not today, you should see to it that you celebrate the day with us.

Look what I made for you:

valentine's day sweets

i'm so very fawned of you, my deer

If neither of them makes you happy, how about a story? That’s what I’m bringing to the party. I hope you’ll like it.

***

This happened when I was in college. Remember those happy, carefree days, when you didn’t have to do anything? No waking up early to go to school, no homework to turn in the next day, and no studying required? Sigh… college was heaven.

On Valentine’s day one year, my roommate and I decided to have a contest on who would receive the most roses. The winner got to wear a tiara for a week. It was her idea. Trust me, I was not into that sort of thing.

Well, she won. She received more roses than I did. I think she sent some of them to herself. Really, how many secret admirers can you have? Besides, while I received less roses, I had a poem written for me. So, in my mind, I won.

Okay, it was a lame poem. Short four-liner that went kinda like this:

I see you!
Hi!
It’s me!
Surprise!

With all those exclamation points! But it came from this really sweet guy. He enjoyed making my day by giving me surprises like showing up in front of my apartment door unannounced and uninvited. I had no idea how he gained access. He didn’t live there so he didn’t have a key and I never buzzed him in.

But still, it was so nice of him to go through the trouble of waiting for someone to let him in.

Sometimes he even showed up with flowers. Flowers that he stole for me. Yes, how sweet was that? He went on his bicycle in the middle of the night and cut tulips from campus gardens to present to me. So considerate.

And one time, he took a picture of me while I was throwing away my trash. I found out about it when the photo showed up in my mailbox. Accompanied with a four-liner poem, of course.

He must have used his tele lens to take the photo. That I could figure out. What I couldn’t figure out was how he was able to be in position to take my picture exactly when I was there. It must have been such a coincidence or he must have been waiting all day. Wasn’t that so sweet?

See, with an admirer like that, who wouldn’t feel like a winner? So, I didn’t feel jealous at all that my roommate bested me in the most roses received (some of which she sent to herself, I’m certain of it) and ended up with the tiara. Pfft…who cares about a tiara? I bought myself one and wore it whenever she wasn’t around, anyway.

Still have it, and still wear it (when no one is around). So there, Cherie!

***

Now it’s your turn to share. Tell us what you’re doing this weekend whether or not you’re celebrating Valentine’s Day.

Link your post by clicking on the button below.

If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines, aka the blah blah blah, here.

Nancy

Jillian

Indu

Juju

Sue

Laura

Hilda

Jim

Anjana

Katie

Victoria

Jess

Julianna

Saucy

Anna

Polianthus

Ngan

Justine

Patty

Sonal

Nell

Margot

Johnny

Aditi & Nikhil

Fae

Sadia

Mr Fitz

Eileen

Qin

Nancy

Lina

Noony

Margherita

Linda

Aditi & Nikhil

Petra

Weebirdie

You’re next!

You’re next!

And now, featured posts from Fiesta Friday #2:

Hilda “The Snow Queen” strikes again! Check out her snow treats @ Along the Grapevine

Sue@birgerbird shows that there’s nothing to fear from cooking a whole fish. In fact, her recipe sounds just so delicious that it just might make me a convert.

Saucy Gander shares one unique yam ice cream recipe. Can you say yum? Can you say yam? Can you say yum yam? I can! This one needs further investigation.

Last but certainly not least, Melanie and Jim @ Our View from Iowa prove that spending your Friday or any day in service of others can uplift your spirits. What an inspiring idea.

Thank you all for participating. Remember, if you don’t get featured this time, don’t get sad or mad. There will plenty of opportunity, plenty….