Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Look, I made this poster!

food art poster

And this big bowl of salad.

big salad bowl

With foraged finds from my backyard.

Okay, they are not exactly foraged finds. They are vegetables and flowers that I planted.

Well, most of them are. Some are really weeds that planted themselves.

What I’m trying to say is that my garden has become a jungle mess due to neglect and uncare (is that a word?), with cultivated vegetables mingling happily with uncultivated weeds, that it felt like I was foraging when I picked them.

Truthfully, I quite enjoyed picking these surprises. It was like….hey look, I found lettuce in here, woohoo! Where did they come from? Oh, yeah, I planted them way back. Good to know they stayed alive. And look, there is even purslane growing with them. I love that in a salad, so let’s pick some of that, too.

So, I picked a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Before I knew it, I had a big bowl of salad. How cool is that? I sound like Ina Garten, but hey, how cool is that? Isn’t she always saying things like that? Like….how easy was that? ….how was that for easy?….how pretty is that? …etc., etc.

Anyway, I just want to show you that sometimes it pays to keep a garden, even if it’s neglected, or even if you have a resident groundhog. ‘Coz you’ll never know, some days you might end up with a big bowl of salad.

salad bowl

Or a poster.

salad poster

So, what does this have anything to do with meals with mom? Well, as you know, my mom is here visiting. Unfortunately, not for much longer. Fortunately, since she’s been here, my diet has become much more varied and gasp, healthy! She is somewhat of a health-nut, my mother. So, most meals we have at home these past few weeks typically involve healthy ingredients. This salad, served on quinoa, is no exception. She even insisted on adding chia seeds to my vinaigrette. Not a bad insistence, actually. The chia added a bit of crunch.

salad on quinoa

Chia Seed Vinaigrette


1 tbsp raw chia seeds
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
3 tsp agave nectar or honey or sugar
6 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Place all ingredients in a jar. Place the lid tightly, and shake until vinaigrette is emulsified. Makes a little over 1/2 cup.

***

Thanks to Sylvia and Andrea for co-hosting last week’s fiesta. They helped me select the following features:


Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream from Michelle @Giraffes Can Bake.

Pumpkins are on my mind these days. Probably ‘coz I’m seeing pumpkins everywhere! So, this immediately got my attention. I don’t know any other more creative use of pumpkin than this one. This even beats Harry Potter’s pumpkin juice. Yes, ice cream beats juice anytime! I am so making this, Michelle! And I don’t even need an ice cream maker. Might as well. Mine just died on me.


2 Recipes, Eating Clean and Special Walnuts from Suzanne @apuginthekitchen.

Aaw, this is such a sweet post. I just love it when Fiesta Friday friends get together, and even more when somehow food is involved. Suzanne’s healthy recipes feature special walnuts gifted by Patty. That makes the recipes even more meaningful, doesn’t it? I think so. Besides, this is a must-pick post for me this week, in honor of my mom and her healthy-eating style. She loves these recipes.


Apple Turnovers from Naina @Spice In The City.

In Sylvia’s words, “I simply love the pictures on the garden setting, I feel transported right into an apple orchard and the pastry looks so fresh, I can only imagine how juicy and fruity they taste!”

If I’m not thinking of pumpkins, I’m definitely thinking of apples. It’s the season, after all. Naina always has a way of making her food so darn irresistible. It’s the way she presents them. Those turnovers got me all hungry, what else but for some sweet, juicy, apple-y dessert.

So I was overjoyed when I saw Ngan @ngan made it came with her French Apple Cake. Isn’t it a beauty?

Andrea thinks so. In her words, “I knew I’d love this French Apple Cake when I saw it at Fiesta Friday. One slice of the cake says it all. Layers of sliced apples and custard topped with powdered sugar. I can imagine it to be as sweet and luxurious as Ngan says it is. It’s just perfect for the fall season!”

***

It’s time for Fiesta Friday #34! The dream team of Selma @Selma’s Table and Elaine @Foodbod gets together once more to share co-hosting duties with me. We are waiting to welcome you to the party!

Click on the button below to join the party. If you’re new to Fiesta Friday, please read the guidelines.

Jhuls

Michelle via Jhuls

Lisa

Tina

Cynthia

Cynthia

Ginger

Moody Foody

Julianna

Moody Foody

Meaghan

Meaghan

Lori

Krumkaker

Andrea

Skd

Moody Foody

Mr Fitz

Mr Fitz

Selma

Nell

Justine

Kaila

Katkapow

Elaine

Michelle

Linda

Juju

Andy

Indira

Swayam

Nick

Swayam

Su

Su

Claudia

Margy

MB

MB

Lily

Loretta

Nicky

Chava

NancyC

Julie

Arl

Stephanie

Charanya

Nancy

Sue

Jing

Cat

Anjana

Anjana

Lina

Sarah

Naina

Tracey

Sarah

Sonal

Hannah

Jess M

Aditi & Nikhil

Anna

Andrea

Mr Fitz

Chitra

Chitra

Petra

Shelly

Mandi

Mr Fitz

Josette

Mr Fitz

Hilda

V & V

Jess

Sarah

Ted

Ted

Johanne

Johanne

Johanne

Apsara

Mr Fitz

Sarah

Stephanie

Stephanie

Ted

Ted

Swayam

Michelle

Ted

Ted

Indu

Anugya

Anugya

You’re next!

You’re next!