Tags

, , , , , ,

Cucumber Watermelon Cooler

The first precious cucumbers from the garden were immediately made into cucumber watermelon cooler, with the help of a store-bought melon. We’re having a heat wave and this drink definitely helped us cool down. No alcohol was added into this, because I wanted the kids to partake in the drinking. But feel free to add it in yours, in lieu of the club soda.

Cucumber Watermelon Cooler
3 cups cubed cucumbers
3 cups cubed watermelon
1/2 cup water
A handful fresh mint leaves (about 12)
Juice from a small lime
10 oz club soda
2 tbsp sugar or honey

1. In a blender, puree cucumbers, watermelon, mint leaves and water. Pour through a fine-mesh sieve set over a pitcher.
2. Press on solids to extract as much juice as possible.
3. Stir in sugar or honey.
4. Add lime juice and club soda.
5. Pour into glasses filled with ice cubes.

watermelon rind pickles

Then, I set aside some of the watermelon rind to pickle. Why? Because, because, because, because, because … sometime ago, I checked out this book, for some light reading.

wizard of oz cookbook

In it, there’s a recipe for these pickles.

watermelon rind pickles recipe

I’ve actually made these pickles before and I think I kind of liked it. I can’t remember for sure since it was a while ago. But, hey, the main ingredient is pretty much free, so what’s there to lose? I’ll find out in a few days if it’s a winner or not. If it’s not, I’m off to see the wizard!

Update: I just realized I’ve been missing out on a lot of fun by not participating in Weekly Photo Challenge. And since the theme this week is Fresh, I decided to re-tag this post, ’cause you know, what could be fresher than Cucumber and Watermelon?

