Tags

, , ,

I have to admit, I’m a better cook than I am a gardener. In fact, when I first started blogging I was undecided about what I should call my blog, The Novice Gardener or The Novice Cook. But Sabo said it’d be misleading to call the blog The Novice Cook. I guess that was some kind of a compliment.

But my gardening skills are slowly catching up to the cooking. One thing for sure, I now know how to grow potatoes. Just take a look at my potato harvest, all from just one and a half plants. (One plant wasn’t dug up completely.)

Potato harvest

The one that was uprooted produced 20 tubers, totaling 4 lbs of potatoes. I used my bathroom scale to weigh them, so it’s probably not very accurate, but it should give you an idea. And I even scrabbled 3 potatoes from this plant earlier in the season. That made a grand total of 23 tubers, from one original seed potato. That’s pretty impressive in my book.

The plant I didn’t uproot gave me 7 huge tubers, at 3 lbs total. I just scratched the dirt around the plant and felt for the tubers, and extracted them, without digging up the whole thing. I’m letting it grow for now, to see what will happen. It still looks green and lush.

potato plant

And I have a theory. As long as the potato continues growing green leaves above ground, it also continues to grow tubers underground. So the longer the plant stays green, the more it produces. Am I right?

I based my theory on the fact that when I uprooted the plant with the 20 tubers, the leaves were also still green, and there was even a small cluster of flowers. And look at the number of tiny tubers still forming.

small potatoes

There were at least half a dozen of them. I wonder if they would have continued to grow had I not dug up the entire plant? It would be exciting to have a perpetual potato plant, wouldn’t it? Harvest only as needed, as long as the season lasts.

I have to thank my fellow bloggers for giving me advice and information on growing potatoes. Annie’s Granny taught me how to scrabble for a few new potatoes without digging up the whole plants. And Food Kitchen Garden gave me an explanation and sort of confirmed my theory already, about how potatoes will continue producing tubers as they grow. Thank you, guys!

Harvest this week also included cucumbers, eggplants, kale and senposai leaves, a few blackberries and tomatoes, green rhubarb stalks, and runty carrots and turnips.

Harvest this week

And lots of volunteer basil.

basil

The small carrots and turnips were grazed by the cook as she slaved in the kitchen. šŸ˜‰ And some of the potatoes were made into oven fries. But I have other plans for the rest of them. Maybe samosa (TG’s favorite) and clam chowder (Sabo’s favorite). But don’t say anything to them yet. I still need to find the time to make them. Right now I’ve got to do some Mom stuff, like playing chauffeur for the kids, etc.

You, on the other hand, can head right over to Daphne’s and view other harvests from gardens across the globe.

